Thai Coconut Curry Meatballs

I was told to make dinner tonight, and that it had to include basil and the ground beef in the fridge….Whenever I think basil, I usually think Italian, but then I remembered we had some red curry paste and basil is so good in Thai food too!

So, I whipped up some Thai curry and meatballs for the fam. I love keeping a bottle of red curry paste at all times. I also always have canned coconut milk, minced garlic, and a box of some kind of brown rice pasta on hand, so this was a no brainer. Our dinner was gluten free, dairy free, and made with a ton of fresh veggies. So, I would say I stayed on track and ate pretty healthy!

This was really tasty! I think I could have used more curry paste or perhaps some Sambal or Sirracha for more of a kick, but I’m super happy with the meatballs. Next time I try making this I will need to make sure I pickup some lemon grass and fresh ginger too!

Thai Coconut Curry Meatballs

Makes 4 servings

Cooking Time: 20-30 minutes

Ingredients


Basil Chile Meatballs:

  • 1 lb. Minced/ground meat eat of your choice (I had beef on hand)
  • 1 Tbsp. Ginger (fresh is better, but dried will do)
  • 1-2 Cloves of garlic minced
  • 1-2 Tbsp. Chile oil, flakes, or sauce for added kick (I used Sambal Chili Garlic Sauce)
  • 1-2 Tbsp. of finely chopped fresh basil
  • 2 Stocks of green onion
  • 1 Egg
  • 1/3 C. Breadcrumbs (I used a gluten free panko)
  • Salt and pepper
  • 1 Tbsp. Sesame oil for cooking

Curry:

  • 2-3 C. of vegetables of your choice (try bell peppers, onion, green onion, zucchini, sugar snap peas etc.)
  • 2-3 Tbsp. red curry paste
  • 1 Can of coconut milk
  • 1 Tbsp. coconut sugar
  • Minced garlic to taste
  • Pinch of salt and pepper
  • A squeeze of lime.
  • Water and cornstarch combo for thickening

Serve with:

  • Brown rice or Brown rice noodles (Annie Chun’s Maifun noodles work well)

Steps to Make Thai Coconut Curry and Meatballs


Mix your meat, seasonings, egg, and breadcrumbs by hand. Form small meatballs and cook in somewhat large pan with sesame oil until browned. I like a little crust on the outside of mine!

remove meatballs and add veggies. Stir-fry the veggies in leftover grease and minced garlic, and then add curry paste and fry a bit more till veggies have softened.

Add in coconut sugar, coconut milk, salt and pepper, and lime and then let simmer on low heat. I also added some cornstarch mixed into water to thicken up the sauce a bit. Eye-ball it adding in a little at a time until its the consistency you want. Now is also when you can taste and add more seasonings if needed to get the curry at the right temperature for your tastes as well.

Re-add the meatballs and simmer a bit longer until everything is hot and sauce is to your liking. Serve over rice or brown rice noodles.

2017-03-22 19.21.33

One thought on “Thai Coconut Curry Meatballs

Leave a Reply

