Korean Army Stew aka Budae Jjigae

If you’ve clicked around my blog, I have a link to my other blog, A Little Piece of my Seoul, from when I lived in Korea for a year to teach English. I LOVE Korea. Korean culture, music, television, beauty products, and most of all KOREAN FOOD! 부대찌개 Budae Jjigae is a Korean stew that was basically created after the war when food was sparse. They incorporated all kinds of American processed foods because that was readily available from the U.S. bases found in South Korea.

I love me some American cheese and bologna… they make the best sandwich, EVER!! and YES those are also found in this soup… believe it or not.

It also contains so many other goodies like Shin Ramen, spicy pepper paste called gochujang, and kimchi. Trust me… I know this ain’t healthy.. but it’s so good every once in awhile, and its totally meant to be shared with other people and eaten with sides or small Korean dishes called banchan. I will definitely be posting more Korean food recipes so come back for those!

I was featured making this, on my good friend’s Mukbang channel on Youtube. Her name is Justene and she loves to eat as much as I do! I’ve been saying I would make this with a ton of friends since they all want to try it and of course it happens one at a time so I’ve eaten this a lot this year..  Don’t worry if I haven’t made it with you yet you will get some Budaejjigae soon!!

Check out Justene’s Youtube channel here: Eat with Justene

For those of you who watch Eat with Justene on Youtube, and came here because of her, thanks for checking out my blog! I know its not much yet.. and I’m working on getting a better camera so my pictures are somewhat better than camera phone quality LOL…. So come back soon and hopefully it looks better then, yea?!! If anything I hope you can find some cooking inspiration or ideas while here!

Korean Army Stew (BudaeJjigae 부대찌개)

Makes 5 servings

Prep Time: 10-20 min.

Cooking Time: 10-15 min.

Ingredients


Paste:

  • 3 Tbsp Gochu Garu (Korean red pepper flakes also known as Togarashi in Japanese)
  • 1 Tbsp Gochujang (Korean red pepper paste)
  • 2 Tbsp Soy sauce
  • 1 Tbsp Minced garlic
  • 1/2 Tbsp Sugar
  • 1/2 Packet of ramen seasoning

Soup Ingredients:

  • 1 liter of Chicken or Beef Broth (we had some water on the side in case more liquid was needed)
  • 3-4 slices Bologna or Spam
  • Sliced hot dogs or cocktail sausages
  • Enoki Mushrooms or other mushrooms of your choice
  • 1/2 c. to 1 c. of Kimchi (really whatever you prefer)
  • Chopped Green onion
  • 1.8 oz. Korean sliced rice cake (soak it in water for 15 minutes prior as it is a bit hard if frozen)
  • 1 to 2 slices of American cheese
  • 1 to 2 packets of instant ramen noodles (I prefer Shin Ramyeon)

*Just a note: you can really add whatever you like to this stew. These are the basics and what I prefer in mine. I’ve also used veggies, tofu, udon noodles, glass noodles, kielbasa sausage, ground pork, and in Korea they even put canned baked beans in it. Get creative, I’m sure it will be tasty either way!

DSC01658

Cooking Steps


  1. Mix paste ingredients in a small bowl and set aside.
  2. Assemble Stew ingredients into a shallow pot, (leave out ramen, cheese)
  3. Pour in a small amount of paste to begin with and then the liquid of your choice and let stew boil. You really only need the mushrooms to get soft, the rice cakes to soften, and the meats warm since they are usually edible without heating. HAH!
  4. Once everything is boiling and cooked add the ramen and cheese. Cook till noodles are how you like them 2 to 3 min usually for me. I like mine chewy!
  5. If using a hot pot or portable burner you can keep it on low while you eat it at the table. Otherwise remove from heat and enjoy right away 🙂
  6. You can serve with steamed rice or other Korean side dishes, but I like it by itself!

 

Leave a Reply

